Arnaud always wanted to rear livestock, and that is exactly what he set about doing as soon as he arrived at the Domain: a new model of agriculture that respects the environment and animals, sustainable yet still profitable, with a focus on saving ancient local breeds that have now virtually disappeared.

A heritage farm

As a young boy in Normandy with his grandparents, Arnaud designed the farm that he would have “when he grew up”. The winding ways of life took him in other directions, but he never gave up his dream. Involved in this sector’s large-scale industrial farms via his career as a vet in the animal health industry, Arnaud has always argued that there has to be more than just the one productivist and industrial model of agriculture. When Arnaud and Fabienne settled at Domaine de la Valette, they had an opportunity to develop an ambitious agro-tourism project, build their farm, rear old French domestic breeds (representative of their terroirs) that are under threat or only found in small numbers, and demonstrate that a different, sustainable, environmentally friendly, balanced, healthy system of agriculture is also possible.

See more

Biodiversity and environment

Local breeds began declining in the 1970s as they no longer met the criteria of modern productivist agriculture.

As a member of various networks of passionate and enthusiastic farmers, Arnaud will introduce you to this wealth of living French heritage, deeply rooted in its local region yet fantastically modern and creating a future for generations to come. “On our own little scale, we are quite simply helping to showcase fantastic local breeds threatened with extinction as a result of pressure from hugely industrialised agriculture”, Arnaud explains. These breeds are part of a virtuous ecosystem. There is no widespread destruction as a result of pesticides or other crop protection products here. Here the hedges are not being pulled up, they are being replanted. By being granted access to undergrowth that protects them from the sun and inclement weather, the animals enjoy a variety of vegetation that gives their meat particular complexity.

The breeds

La Valette farm now has around ten different ancient breeds that are being kept not as remnants of the past, but to drive viable and healthy economic activity.

  • Jodie des Barthes de l’Adour, a twenty-year-old Landais pony, had her first foal Ikatxu in May 2018 and thus prevented her line from dying out.
  • Maguy, a young female Berger d’Auvergne dog, is one of only fifty currently known remaining examples of this working breed.
  • Cotentin donkeys Quenotte, Emaye and Fluor accompany young and old as they hike the Domain’s trails.
  • Our farm’s ancient poultry breeds:
    • Gascony hens with their delicious eggs
    • Coucou de Rennes hens with their unmistakable meat
    • Very rare Gascony turkeys and yellow Landes turkeys which offer a reminder that this is a meat for festive occasions
    • Grey Landes geese, which have virtually entirely died out, producing incredibly refined confits, breast meat and foie gras
See more

Cotentin donkey (1)

Use of this species dates back over 4000 years. It was widespread from the Middle Ages to the 18th century.

Originating in the north of the Cotentin, this donkey is a local breed that was used for agricultural work and for carrying goods (especially milk) in the Lower Normandy area. Widely used by poor families for its sober temperament, over the 18th and 19th centuries the Cotentin donkey was gradually replaced by workhorses and has suffered tremendously from the mechanisation of agriculture. From a total of approximately 9,000 donkeys in the 1930s, the species has dwindled to just a few hundred individuals today, but numbers are once again climbing: in 2011, 152 donkeys were born.

Quenotte (aged 12) is the mother of Emaye (aged 3) and of Fluor de La Valette (born on 11 June 2015).

Bazadais cattle

Originally used for working the land, this breed saw its numbers drop dramatically with the mechanisation of agriculture in the wake of the Second World War. Bazadais cattle are now used for the production of beef.

With known examples of this breed reduced to just 700, a revival was planned and implemented in the 1970s. Today the Bazadais breed totals 3,300 animals in South-Western France, from the Gironde to the Pyrenees. Compare this number with the total of 1,500,000 Charolais or Limousin cattle, much more productive breeds.

Our poultry:

At the end of the Second World War, home consumption disappeared and gave way to industrial standardisation of chicken rearing strains. Around twenty chicken breeds virtually died out, including Gascony hens and turkeys and Coucou de Rennes hens.

Gascony hens (1)

Originating in the Garonne valley, these hens are considered a rustic fowl that flourishes best if raised in liberty. It has been declining since the 1950s, and in the 1970s almost vanished except on a few farms.

Coucou de Rennes hens (2)

“A real farm hen”, according to the journal “Acclimatation” on 4 July 1915

A chicken with striped plumage like that of a woodland cuckoo. A mixed breed (eggs and meat) famed for the quality of its flesh.

Fewer than 1000 reproducing birds in existence.

Gascony turkeys (1)

Only found on a very small number of farms, the Gers turkey became endangered following rural depopulation and changes to agricultural methods. It likes to graze and roam large distances. A male turkey weighs at least 8 kg and a female at least 5 kg. The female turkeys are excellent egg incubators and good mothers.

Mérens horse (1)

The Mérens breed is an extremely old one that has always ranged freely in the Pyrenees in the Ariège. The breed is very standard as it was for a long time isolated in the mountains. Rustic and of good character, it used to be very popular as a pack horse or for small agricultural tasks. It came very close to extinction, as in the 1970s there were only 4 stallions and around 40 mares left. The numbers are still small but it is no longer at risk as there are about 500 births a year and more than a thousand mares.

Quartz and Qlamour are 12-year-old gelds.

Landais pony (1)

La Valette farm is involved in the Landais pony conservation programme run by the Conservatoire des Races d’Aquitaine thanks to its 18-year-old mare Jodie. The breed numbers just 90 mares and 15 stallions, which is far too few. The Landais pony is one of the equine breeds most threatened with extinction and preserving it is a priority. Shaped by the marshy meadows and Landes forests around the river Adour, it is rustic and lives outside all year round. It is an excellent sports pony and adapts well to all disciplines.

This information comes from an excellent reference work entitled “Nos animaux domestiques – le tour de France d’un patrimoine menacé” written by our friends Philippe Dubois and Elise Rousseau and by Jean–Claude Périquet (published by Delachaux et Niestlé).

The farm’s produce

The rearing and production of veal, pork and beef on La Valette farm holds organic farming certification from ECOCERT. Environmental consequences are taken into account in all that we do.

We supply crates of our meat to Bergerac, Périgueux, Libourne and Bordeaux. Any more distant deliveries are sent using cold chain logistics verified by Chronofresh.

The farm animals are reared outside where they can roam freely in their natural environment of different pastures and undergrowth, using ancestral farming methods that respect the animals’ well-being. They drink spring water and recovered rainwater. Organic food supplements rich in omega-3 (alfalfa, fava beans, flax seeds) – made from ingredients grown without any synthetic chemicals or GMOs and containing no flavour enhancers, colourings or synthetic flavourings – are also used to enrich their food.

Our modern diet, based on industrial products, is overly rich in omega-6 which is pro-inflammatory and a vector of chronic diseases. The current ratio in Europe is more than 10:1 for omega-6 to omega-3, whereas a balanced level would be 1:5 of omega-3 to omega-6. Eating meat rich in omega-3 helps to correct this imbalance.

The rearing conditions and food quality (in particular thanks to the diverse flora) give our meat striking complexity of flavour with intramuscular fat and an exceptionally tender texture.

Our animals are primarily treated with gentle medicines made from plants and essential oils.

Arnaud a toujours souhaité être éleveur. Dès son arrivée au Domaine, il concrétise son rêve avec une volonté manifeste : mettre en place un nouveau modèle d’agriculture, respectueux de l’environnement et des animaux, durable donc rentable, en mettant en valeur les races anciennes de nos terroirs, aujourd’hui pratiquement disparues.

La ferme patrimoniale

Tout jeune, en Normandie chez ses grands-parents, Arnaud dessine les plans de la ferme « de quand il sera grand ». Les options de la vie l’ont amené vers d’autres horizons pourtant ce rêve ne l’a jamais quitté. Impliqué dans les grands élevages industriels de ce monde par sa carrière de vétérinaire dans l’industrie de la santé animale, Arnaud a toujours défendu le fait qu’il ne pouvait pas y avoir qu’un seul modèle d’agriculture, productiviste et industriel. Avec leur installation sur le Domaine de La Valette c’est l’occasion pour Arnaud et Fabienne de développer un projet agro-touristique ambitieux, de construire leur Ferme, d’y élever d’anciennes races domestiques françaises, menacées ou à très petits effectifs, représentatives de leurs terroirs, et de démontrer qu’un autre système d’agriculture, durable, respectueux de l’environnement, équilibré et sain est possible.

Voir plus

Biodiversité et environnement

A partir des années 70 les races locales ont décliné car elles ne répondaient plus aux critères de l’agriculture productiviste moderne.
Membre de réseaux d’éleveurs passionnés et passionnants Arnaud saura vous faire découvrir cette richesse du patrimoine vivant français, profondément ancré dans son terroir mais également terriblement moderne et porteur d’avenir pour les générations futures « Nous participons simplement à notre petite échelle à la mise en lumière de merveilleuses races de notre terroir menacées d’extinction par la pression d’une agriculture industrialisée à l’extrême » explique Arnaud. Ces races font partie d’un écosystème vertueux. Ici pas de destruction massive dues aux pesticides et autres produits phytosanitaires. Ici on n’arrache pas les haies, on les replante. En leur donnant accès aux sous-bois qui les protègent du soleil ou des intempéries, les animaux profitent d’une végétation variée qui donnera une complexité particulière à la viande.

Les races

La Ferme de La Valette c’est aujourd’hui une dizaine de races anciennes, élevées non pas pour être les témoins du passé mais pour être les acteurs d’une activité économique viable et saine.
– Jodie des Barthes de l’Adour, ponette de race Landaise, âgée de 20 ans, elle a eu son premier poulain Ikatxu en Mai 2018 et évite ainsi l’extinction de sa lignée.
– Maguy, jeune chienne de Berger d’Auvergne qui fait partie des cinquante derniers chiens de cette race de travail identifiés à ce jour.
– Quenotte, Emaye et Fluor, les ânes du Cotentin qui accompagnent petits et grands lors de leurs randonnées sur les chemins du Domaine
– Les Volailles anciennes de nos fermes :
o Les poules Gasconnes aux œufs délicieux
o Les poules Coucou de Rennes dont la chair est inimitable
o Les dindes Gasconnes et les dindes jaunes des Landes, très rares, qui rappellent que cette viande est un plat de fête
o Les oies grises des Landes, pratiquement totalement disparues, qui produisent des confits, magrets et foies gras d’une finesse incroyable.

Voir plus

Ane du Cotentin (1)

L’utilisation de cette espèce remonte à plus de 4000 ans. Elle était très représentée du Moyen Age au 18ème siècle.
Originaire du nord du Cotentin, cet âne est une race locale qui aidait aux travaux agricoles et au transport des marchandises (notamment du lait) en Basse Normandie. Très utilisé par les familles pauvres pour sa sobriété il a d’abord été supplanté aux 18ème et 19ème siècles par les chevaux de travail puis a subi de plein fouet la mécanisation des exploitations agricoles. D’environ 9000 ânes dans les années 1930, la race est passée à quelques centaines d’individus seulement mais les effectifs sont désormais repartis à la hausse. En 2011 152 ânons sont nés.
Quenotte (12 ans) est la maman de Emaye (3 ans) et Fluor de La Valette (né le 11 Juin 2015).

Vache bazadaise

Utilisée à l’origine comme race de travail, cette race voit ses effectifs fortement chuter avec la motorisation de l’agriculture au lendemain de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. La Bazadaise est alors réorientée vers la production de viande.

Alors que l’on ne recensait plus que 700 animaux inscrits, un plan de relance a été mis en place dans les années 70. Aujourd’hui, la race BAZADAISE compte environ 4000 femelles dans le grand Sud-Ouest, de la Gironde au massif Pyrénéen. Effectif à comparer aux 1 500 000 charolaises ou limousines, races beaucoup plus productives.

Nos Volailles

A la fin de la seconde guerre mondiale les pratiques d’autoconsommation disparaissent et laissent place à l’uniformisation industrielle des souches de poulets d’élevage Une vingtaine de races de volaille vont quasiment disparaître. La poule et la dinde gasconne ou la poule Coucou de Rennes sont de celles là.

Poules Gasconnes (1)

Originaire de la vallée de la Garonne elle est considérée comme une volaille rustique préférant l’élevage en liberté. Dès 1950 elle décline et vers les années 1970 elle est presque disparue sauf dans quelques fermes.

Poule Coucou de Rennes (2)

« Vraie poule de ferme » selon le journal l’Acclimatation du 4 Juille1915
Volaille au plumage barré comme les coucou des bois. Race mixte (œufs et chair) réputée pour la qualité de sa chair.
Effectif inférieur à 1000 reproducteurs.

Dindons Gascons (1)

Présent chez un trop petit nombre d’éleveurs le dindon du Gers est dans une situation précaire et ce depuis l’exode rural et les changements de méthodes agricoles. Ils aiment à pâturer et vagabonder sur de grands parcours. Le dindon pèse au minimum 8 kg et la dinde 5 kg. Les dindes sont de bonnes couveuses et de bonnes mères.

Cheval de Mérens (1)

Le mérens est une très vieille race de chevaux qui a toujours vécu en liberté dans les Pyrénées en Ariège. La race est très homogène car elle fût longtemps isolée dans les montagnes. Rustique, de bon caractère, il fût beaucoup utilisé comme cheval de bât ou pour les petits travaux agricoles. Il a frôlé l’extinction ; dans les années 1970 il n’y avait plus que 4 étalons et une quarantaine de juments. Race à petits effectifs il n’est désormais plus en danger avec environ 500 naissances par an et plus d’un millier de juments.

Quartz et Qlamour sont des hongres agés de 12 ans

Poney Landais (1)

La Ferme de La Valette participe au programme de conservation du poney landais conduit par le Conservatoire des races d’Aquitaine avec une jument de 18 ans Jodie. L’effectif de la race est d’environ 90 femelles et 15 étalons, ce qui est très peu. Le landais est l’une des traces de chevaux les plus menacées et sa conservation est prioritaire. Forgé par les prairies marécageuses et les forêts landaises autour du fleuve Adour, il est rustique et vit dehors toute l’année C’est un très bon poney de sport qui s’adapte à toutes les disciplines.

(1) Ces informations ci-dessus proviennent de l’excellent ouvrage de référence « Nos animaux domestiques – le tour de France d’un patrimoine menacé » écrit par nos amis Philippe Dubois et Elise Rousseau et par Jean –Claude Périquet. (Editions Delachaux et Niestlé).

Les produits de la ferme

L’élevage et la production de veaux, porcs et bœufs de la Ferme de La Valette est certifiée Agriculture Biologique par l’organisme ECOCERT.

Nous livrons nos caissettes de viande sur Bergerac, Périgueux, Libourne et Bordeaux. Les envois plus lointains sont envoyés sous chaîne du froid contrôlée par Chronofresh.

Les animaux de la Ferme sont élevés en plein air dans le respect du bien-être animal. Ils s’abreuvent d’eau de source et d‘eau de récupération de pluie. Ils sont nourris avec de la bonne herbe fraîche de nos prairies, du foin et des aliments bio produits à partir d’ingrédients cultivés sans produits chimiques de synthèse et sans OGM. Ils ne contiennent ni exhausteurs de goût, ni colorants, ni arômes chimiques de synthèse. L’alimentation des animaux est complétée par des apports riches en oméga 3 (Luzerne, Féverole, graines de Lin) car il est démontré que ce que mange les animaux se retrouve dans notre assiette. Hors notre alimentation est aujourd’hui trop riche en Oméga 6 vecteur pro-inflamatoire et de maladies chroniques (le ratio aujourd’hui en Europe est de plus de 10 Oméga 6 pour 1 Oméga 3). Un bon équilibre serait d’atteindre le ratio d’1 Oméga 3 pour 5 Oméga 6.

Tout cela joue sur le goût et la tendreté de la viande.

Nos animaux sont soignés en priorité avec des médecines douces, à base plantes et huiles essentielles.